RESOLUTION NO. 1 – 2023

JOINT RESOLUTION SACRAMENTO AREA COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS, SACRAMENTO REGIONAL TRANSIT DISTRICT, SACRAMENTO METROPOLITAN AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT DISTRICT, AND SACRAMENTO MUNICIPAL UTILITY DISTRICT

WHEREAS, Sacramento Area Council of Governments, Sacramento Metropolitan Air Quality Management District, Sacramento Regional Transit District, and Sacramento Municipal Utility District ("the agencies") recognize the need for interagency communication and cooperation; and

WHEREAS, the agencies share a vision for a vibrant and thriving Sacramento region for all, and are individually and collectively working towards achieving this vision; and

WHEREAS, it is not possible for any one of the agencies to be successful in its own mission without considering and addressing the impacts and influences on and from the other agencies as well as other local agencies in the six-county region of El Dorado, Placer, Sacramento, Sutter, Yolo and Yuba counties; and

WHEREAS, federal, state and philanthropic programs, policies, regulations and funding encourage coordinated planning and action between organizations functioning within the same region; and

WHEREAS, we are a region at risk of wildfires, floods, extreme heat, and drought., and whereas we need to be a region that's proactively working to both reduce carbon emissions and be prepared for more extreme weather events; and

WHEREAS, in 2021 the agencies through their executives signed a Memorandum of Understanding for the purpose of coordinating land use projects and activities affecting transportation, air quality and climate in the Sacramento region; and

WHEREAS, the governing boards of these agencies wish to further this partnership through a partnership resolution of the governing bodies in the interests of their residents and customers to build on and enhance the existing substantial coordination and cooperation between these organizations;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that these four agencies will do the following:

1. Support the priority projects being identified by the Climate Pollution Reduction Grants Plan under development in the Sacramento region;

- 2. Maintain the Four-Agency Working Group by having staff leadership from each organization meet at least four times each year to identify issues of common interest and recommend joint activities for consideration by the four governing boards;
- 3. Continue to direct staff expertise and resources to coordinate efforts in the areas of shared responsibility including land use, transportation, air quality, and climate.
- 4. Work together to secure funding for the nearly \$1 billion in ZEV technology and programs to boost the region's clean energy portfolio as called for in the Sacramento Area Zero Emission Vehicle Deployment Strategy;
- 5. Align the state and federal legislative platforms and policy efforts of the four agencies when and where appropriate on topics of mutual interest to the governing boards;
- 6. Pursue additional ways to integrate the staff-work of the four agencies to improve effectiveness and efficiency including the creation of staff-level working groups organized around the topics outlined in this resolution;
- 7. The chief executive of each organization will prioritize resources to further the efforts of the priorities that the four agencies may agree to, and will involve the governing body as appropriate with updates on mutual efforts.

PASSED AND ADOPTED, this 9th day of November 2023, by the following vote of the Board of Directors:

AYES: SACOG Directors:

Directors Bains, Bradford, Branscum, Bulahan, Chapman, Desmond, Dowdin Calvillo, Frost, Ghag, Gore, Early (for Guerrero), Joiner, Kozlowski, Loren, Lozano, Sander, Vega (for Stallard), Suen, Thomas, Vang, Villegas, and Chair Kennedy

SMAQMD Directors:

Directors Daniels, Desmond, Frost, Guerra, Hume, Loloee, Maple, Papineau, Serna, Terry, Vang, Vice Chair Aquino, and Chair Kennedy

SMUD Directors:

Directors Bui-Thompson, Fishman, Kerth, Rose, Tamayo, Vice President Herber, and President Sanborn

SacRT Directors:

Directors Daniels, Hume, Kozlowski, Loloee, Maple, Serna, Valenzuela, and Chair Kennedy

NOES: None

ABSTAIN: None

ABSENT: SACOG Directors: Directors Burruss, Gayaldo, Harris, Houdesheldt, Jennings,

Knisley, Schaefer, West, Vice Chair Saragosa

SMAQMD Directors: Director Singh-Allen

SMUD Directors: None

SacRT Directors: Directors Budge, Singh-Allen, Vice Chair Jennings

Patrick Kennedy

Sacramento Area Council of Governments

Chair

James Corless

Executive Director

Patrick Kennedy

Sacramento Regional Transit District

Chair

Henry Li

CEO/General Manager

Patrick Kennedy

Sacramento Metropolitan Air Quality

Management District Chair

Alberto Avala

Executive Director/Air Pollution

Control Officer

Heidi Sanborn

Sacramento Municipal Utility District

eidi Sanban

President

Paul Lau

CEO/General Manager