

News Release

Date: January 28, 2021

Contact: Sac Metro Air District Media Line

916-874-4888

Sac Metro Air District Welcomes Five New Board Members Chair Guerra Voted to Lead Two More Years

(Sacramento, CA) Five new members joined the Sac Metro Air District's governing board today at the District's regularly scheduled board meeting.

New board members include:

Rich Desmond, Sacramento County Supervisor, District 3 Sean Loloee, Sacramento City Council, District 2 Mai Vang, Sacramento City Council, District 8 Bobbie Singh-Allen, Mayor City of Elk Grove Kevin Papineau, Galt City Council

The District's Governing Board is composed of 14 members, including all five Sacramento County Supervisors, four members of the Sacramento City Council, one member each from the cities of Citrus Heights, Elk Grove, Folsom and Rancho Cordova, and one member representing the cities of Galt and Isleton.

Eric Guerra, City of Sacramento City councilmember, District 6, will serve as Chair for the next two-year term. The board voted for Chair Guerra to serve an additional term after serving from 2019 until today.

"I'm looking forward to working with the new board members and those I've work with over the last few years, to continue to bring innovative programs, incentives, and new technologies to the region, which improve our air quality," said Air Pollution Control Officer Alberto Ayala. "Additionally, we will continue to work hard to make sure our most vulnerable communities are represented, heard, and resources are available and deployed to address their air quality problems and concerns."